Local NAACP chapter honors outstanding locals - ABC 33/40 - Birmingham News, Weather, Sports

Local NAACP chapter honors outstanding locals

Posted: Updated:


The Metro Birmingham Branch NAACP will host the 14th Annual Salute to Outstanding African Americans.  Each year, the local chapter asks for nominations.  This year's list has been narrowed to 20.

Lifetime Achievement Honorees:
  • Mayor Emeritus Bernard Kincaid, J.D., Ph.D. - Government Service
  • Mr. Johnny Knott, Jr. - Outstanding Community Service
  • Mr. Calvin C. Haynes - Outstanding Community Service

Image Awards:
  • The Honorable Randall Woodfin, President Birmingham Board of Education
  • Jonathan K. Porter, Vice President Alabama Power Company
  • Attorney Cleo Washington, Chief of Legislative Affairs AT&T Alabama
  • Ronald D. Mitchell, Chair, Birmingham Park & Recreation Board
  • Edith Major, Personnel Officer Birmingham Public Library
  • Bacarra Maudlin, Projects Manager/Assistant to Mayor Bell
  • Evelyn D. Williams, Chair George Washington Carver Cemetery Oversight Committee
  • Dr. Tolton C. Rosser, Birmingham Heritage Band
  • Officer Erik O. Henderson, Birmingham Police Department

Community Service:
  • Mrs. Exie Thomas Bridges                                         
  • Mr. Joseph L. Young                                                   
  • Mrs. Willie Jean Lewis

Civil Rights Foot Soldiers:
  • Mrs. Gloria Washington Lewis Randall
  • Ms. Barbara Basemore Thompson
  • Mrs. Virginia Hendking Files
  • Ms. Carolyn Walker Williams
  • Mr. Cedric McNeal
The program is Sunday, February 23, 2014, at 5PM.  The location is St. Paul United Methodist Church in Birmingham.


Most Popular