'Bama basketball set to play 5 games during 10-day trip to Europ - ABC 33/40 - Birmingham News, Weather, Sports

'Bama basketball set to play 5 games during 10-day trip to Europe

Posted: Updated:
Alabama guard Trevor Releford. (abc3340.com) Alabama guard Trevor Releford. (abc3340.com)

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. -- The Alabama men's basketball team will get an early start to the 2013-14 campaign as it embarks on a 10-day, five-game trip to Europe. The trip, which spans Aug. 8-18, will take the Crimson Tide to The Netherlands, Belgium and France. 

Throughout the trip, fans can follow along with what the team is doing on a daily blog titled "Crimson Tide Brands Itself To The World," which will feature pictures, videos and write-ups throughout the trip.

The Crimson Tide will play its first game in The Netherlands on Saturday, Aug. 10, vs. Meppel Red Giants at 6 p.m. Central European Time (CET)/11 a.m. Central Daylight Time (CDT). Alabama will then play twice in Belgium vs. Gembo (Monday, Aug. 12, at 8 p.m. CET/1 p.m. CDT) and Antwerp Giants (Tuesday, Aug. 13, at 7 p.m. CET/Noon CDT). The Tide's final two games will take place in France when it squares off against Boulogne (Friday, Aug. 16, at 5:30 p.m. CET/10:30 a.m. CDT) and Rouen (Saturday, Aug. 17, at 3 p.m. CET/8 a.m. CDT).

When not playing games, Alabama men's basketball staff and players will take tours of various historic landmarks such as the Ann Frank House Museum (The Netherlands), Van Gogh Museum (The Netherlands), Notre Dame Cathedral (France) Champs Elysees (France) and Versailles (France), among others places.

Fans can follow all the happenings during the trip on the blog (INSERT LINK), or by following @AlabamaMBB on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Source:  www.rolltide.com

  • Auburn University SportsMore>>

  • Auburn QB Nick Marshall pays $1,100 in fines for marijuana possession, window tint violations in Georgia

    Auburn QB Nick Marshall pays $1,100 in fines for marijuana possession, window tint violations in Georgia

    Thursday, July 24 2014 3:33 PM EDT2014-07-24 19:33:03 GMT
    Auburn quarterback Nick Marshall has paid the fines for possession of a small amount of marijuana and a window tint violation.More >>
    Auburn quarterback Nick Marshall has paid the fines for possession of a small amount of marijuana and a window tint violation.
    More >>
  • CB Chris Westry commits to Auburn

    CB Chris Westry commits to Auburn

    Thursday, July 24 2014 2:22 PM EDT2014-07-24 18:22:20 GMT
    Auburn added some size to the future of it's defensive backfield.Cornerback Chris Westry of Oakleaf High School in Florida committed to be part of the Tigers recruiting class of 2015. The 6-foot-4, 180 pound Westry is a three-star prospect according to 247Sports.Oakleaf High School announced the commitment on it's twitter page,2015 DB Chris Westry has committed to Auburn #WarEagle --Oakleaf Football ?, July 24 Westry is the 18th commitment for Auburn's 2015 signing class.More >>
    Auburn added some size to the future of it's defensive backfield.Cornerback Chris Westry of Oakleaf High School in Florida committed to be part of the Tigers recruiting class of 2015. The 6-foot-4, 180 pound Westry is a three-star prospect according to 247Sports.Oakleaf High School announced the commitment on it's twitter page,2015 DB Chris Westry has committed to Auburn #WarEagle --Oakleaf Football ?, July 24 Westry is the 18th commitment for Auburn's 2015 signing class.More >>
  • Josh Donaldson nominated for MLB Heart and Hustle Award

    Josh Donaldson nominated for MLB Heart and Hustle Award

    Wednesday, July 23 2014 6:37 PM EDT2014-07-23 22:37:43 GMT
    Josh Donaldson earned the Oakland A's Heart and Hustle Award. It's the second consecutive season Donaldson was chosen for the honor.More >>
    Josh Donaldson earned the Oakland A's Heart and Hustle Award. It's the second consecutive season Donaldson was chosen for the honor.More >>
  • All other Local CollegesMore>>

  • Samford picked to finish third in Southern Conference

    Samford picked to finish third in Southern Conference

    Wednesday, July 23 2014 8:38 PM EDT2014-07-24 00:38:39 GMT
    Coming off it's first trip to the FCS Playoffs, Samford was picked to finish third in the Southern Conference, the highest the program has even been picked in the preseason since it joined the league in 2008.More >>
    Coming off it's first trip to the FCS Playoffs, Samford was picked to finish third in the Southern Conference, the highest the program has even been picked in the preseason since it joined the league in 2008.More >>
  • Alabama State, Southern favorites in SWAC

    Alabama State, Southern favorites in SWAC

    Friday, July 18 2014 5:11 PM EDT2014-07-18 21:11:55 GMT
    Defending Southwestern Athletic Conference champion Southern and Alabama State are the favorites to win their divisions.More >>
    Defending Southwestern Athletic Conference champion Southern and Alabama State are the favorites to win their divisions.
    More >>
  • JSU football picked by media to win OVC championship

    JSU football picked by media to win OVC championship

    Friday, July 18 2014 4:08 PM EDT2014-07-18 20:08:13 GMT
    Jacksonville State is picked to win the Ohio Valley Conference championship by media covering the league.More >>
    Jacksonville State is picked to win the Ohio Valley Conference championship by media covering the league.
    More >>