SBA Disaster Assistance Approved for DeKalb, Etowah Counties - ABC 33/40 - Birmingham News, Weather, Sports

SBA Disaster Assistance Approved for DeKalb, Etowah and Surrounding Counties

Posted: Updated:

Governor Robert Bentley on Thursday announced that DeKalb, Etowah and surrounding counties have been approved for disaster assistance in the form of low-interest rate loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.  The approval is based on damage assessments from the March 18th storms.

"Cleanup continues in several communities, and this assistance from the SBA will go a long way in helping our communities recover," Governor Bentley said.  "There is help available for homeowners, businesses and nonprofit organizations that suffered damage from the storms.  From the time the storms rolled through, to seeking today's disaster declaration from the SBA, we have been working with affected communities and connecting them with any resource we can."

DeKalb and Etowah counties are the two primary counties listed in the SBA disaster declaration that was approved Thursday afternoon.  The declaration also covers counties that are contiguous to DeKalb and Etowah Counties.  In Alabama, those counties are Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, Jackson, Marshall and St. Clair.  In Georgia, the contiguous counties are Chattooga, Dade and Walker.

Most Popular