Dancing With The Stars pairs announced - ABC 33/40 - Birmingham News, Weather, Sports

Dancing With The Stars pairs announced

Posted: Updated:

The new, all-star season of "Dancing With the Stars" is six weeks away.  Now, fans have a better idea of what to expect when some of the show's biggest stars return to the ballroom. 

The returning stars were recently announced.  The biggest question that has loomed is whether they will have the same partners or new ones.  Here is how the cast breaks down:

  • Reality star Bristol Palin will once again dance her season 11 partner Mark Ballas.
  • Olympic gymnast and past "Dancing" winner Shawn Johnson, who moved with Ballas in season eight, will dance with Derek Hough.
  • For actress Kirstie Alley, all-stars will offer a second chance with her season-12 partner Maksim Chmerkovskiy.
  • Retired NFL running back Emmitt Smith, who danced with Cheryl Burke in season three, will dance with her again.
  • Actor Gilles Marini danced with Burke in season eight, and now he'll try for the mirror-ball trophy with Peta Murgatroyd.
  • When actor and singer Drew Lachey danced, and won, in season two, he also did so with pro Burke. This time he'll move alongside Anna Trebunskaya.
  • The first time actress Pamela Anderson participated in the competition, back in season 10, she danced with pro Damian Whitewood. This time she'll dance with Tristan MacManus.
  • Olympic speed skater Apolo Anton Ohno won with past pro Julianne Hough in season four, but he'll perform with Karina Smirnoff in all-stars.
  • Indy 500 champ Helio Castroneves took top honors with Hough in season five. He'll try for a repeat with Chelsie Hightower.
  • Actor and 'N Sync member Joey Fatone will dance with his season-four partner Kym Johnson.
  • Actress Kelly Monaco won with pro Alec Mazo is "Dancing's" first season. She'll dance with Val Chmerkokvskiy for all-stars.
  • In season eight, Melissa Rycroft danced with pro Tony Dovolani. She'll do the same for all-stars.

That's not all! Ballroom fans are being asked to vote for their favorite past player to fill a 13th spot on the dance floor.  That battle is between Carson Kressley, Kyle Massey and Sabrina Bryan.  Votes will be collected online until August 24th.

Dancing With the Stars premieres September 24th.